2020 Senior Letterwinners' Dinner

Please join us on Wednesday, May 27 -- the night before commencement -- at 8PM ET for the 2020 Senior Letterwinners' Dinner at SLD2020.com.


The Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner is a celebration of the student-athletes in the Class of 2020. This is our chance to say THANK YOU for everything they have contributed to the Harvard community, and for upholding the ideals of Harvard Athletics -- PRINCIPLED LEADERSHIP. ACADEMIC INTEGRATION. COMPETITIVE EXCELLENCE. 

The SLD is our favorite event of the year. And while we are sad that we can't do this in person, we are committed to making this a night our seniors remember because the Harvard Varsity Club is 'Your Team for Life.'

And we promise that when the time comes that we are all able to be together again, we will throw the Class of 2020 the party it deserves!


The Francis H. Burr '09 Scholarship - First awarded in 1918, this award is a scholarship fund established in memory of Francis H. Burr by his friends. It is awarded to a senior “who combines as nearly as possible, Burr’s remarkable qualities of character, leadership, scholarship, and athletic ability.” 

The William J. Bingham Award - First awarded in 1954, this award is given annually to that male member of the graduating class of Harvard College who, through integrity, courage, leadership, and ability on the athletic fields, has best served the high purpose of Harvard as exemplified by the late William J. Bingham ’16, former Director of Athletics. 

The John P. Fadden Award - This award was established in 1966 in honor of the late John P. Fadden’s service as an athletic trainer and friend to Harvard athletes for many years. The award is given annually to a senior student (Varsity, JV or Intramural) who has overcome physical adversity to make a contribution to his/her team.

The list of awards has increased over the years to include the following eight:

The Radcliffe Prize - This award was first established in 1975. It is awarded annually to that senior woman letterwinner who, through outstanding ability on the playing field and dedication to her sport or sports and qualities of leadership, best reflects the purposeful achievement of Radcliffe Alumnae in every field around the world. 

The Harvard-Radcliffe Foundation for Women’s Athletics Prize - Established by the Harvard-Radcliffe Foundation for Women’s Athletics (HRFWA), this prize was first presented in 1986 and is awarded annually to the senior woman who best exemplifies the qualities of excellent scholarship, character, leadership, and athletic ability. 

The John P. Reardon '60 Men’s Award - Established in 1987, this award is named in honor of John P. Reardon, Jr., ’60, Director of Athletics from 1977 to 1990. This prize is presented annually to the senior varsity male athlete who exemplifies the qualities of excellent scholarship, character, leadership, and athletic ability. 

The Mary G. Paget Prize - The Mary G. Paget Prize is awarded annually by the presidents of Radcliffe and Harvard in honor of Mary Guest Paget’s many years of service as Director of Sports, Dance and Recreation at Radcliffe College. The prize was first established in 1975 and is awarded each year to the senior student who has contributed the most to women’s athletics. 

The Francis J. Toland Community Service Award - This award was created in honor of former Senior Associate Director of Athletics Fran Toland, who retired in 2000 after 41 years of service to Harvard athletics. The award is presented to the senior athlete who has made the most outstanding contribution to Harvard and its neighboring communities. 

The Carroll F. Getchell Manager of the Year Award - In 1981, the Committee on Athletics voted to name the Manager of the Year Award, established in 1972, for the late Carroll F. Getchell, long-time business manager in the Department of Athletics. Each year the Department recognizes that manager in the senior class “who has best displayed integrity, courage, leadership, and ability” during his/her years of participation. 

The Director’s Award - Established in 2007, the Director’s Award recognizes the person (or persons) who, through his/her pursuit of excellence and service to Harvard Athletics, has displayed exceptional leadership, personal character, integrity and commitment to education through athletics. 

The Arthur L. Boland Award - This award was established in 2010 by the Department of Athletics to honor Arthur Boland, MD in commemoration of his 40 years of dedicated service to Harvard Athletics. The award is presented each year to a senior varsity athlete who will be attending medical school and who best exemplifies those characteristics and qualities which have been the hallmark of Dr. Art Boland’s care for Harvard athletes.

Become an Endowment Contributor

The Harvard Varsity Club and Department of Athletics established the Senior Letterwinners' Dinner Endowment Fund in 2017. Ideally, the endowment will provide enough income to dramatically reduce the cost of the dinner (currently $65) for all attendees, allowing more family and friends the opportunity to attend each year.

Endowment gifts of $1,000 will receive Harvard College Reunion and Class Credit, and will be acknowledged on the HVC website and in the Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner event program indefinitely. To make a gift, contact the HVC (hvc@fas.harvard.edu or 617-495-3535) or make a gift through the Harvard College Fund by;

  1. Selecting FAS Athletics under the School/Affiliate dropdown
  2. Selecting Harvard Varsity Club under the fund dropdown

  3. Selecting This is a Pledge Payment and specifying your gift is to the Senior Letterwinners' Dinner endowment (fund #340-487142RE) in the texbox

National Champion | $100,000 donation
All-American | $25,000 donation

All-Ivy | $10,000 donation

Captain | $5,000 donation

Major H | $1,000 donation

About the Harvard Varsity Club

The Harvard Varsity Club is a registered 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which supports a vibrant community of over 30,000 current and alumni Harvard student-athletes, parents, and friends. Financial support from our membership program, including our Lifetime Membership Endowment, allows us to support the professional development of current and alumni student-athletes, and helps us bring our community together through events like the Senior Letterwinners' Dinner. To learn more about the Harvard Varsity Club and member benefits, click here.

Thank You to our
Endowment Contributors!
(2015 - present)

Make a gift online to contribute to
the continued success of the SLD


National Champion | $100,000

Jacqueline & Jeffrey Tonkel '92


All-American | $25,000

John Simourian ’57, P'88
Jim Quagliaroli '97


All-Ivy | $10,000

Scott Collins '87, P'16
Mary & Richard Jacobson P'16

Captain | $5,000

Louis J. Appell, Jr. ’47 P’73

Kimberley & William Anderson P'17


Major H | $1,000

Walter Greeley '53, P'85
John Winthrop '58, P'86
Georges Peter '59, P'90
Bob Anderson '61
Robert Brooks '68
Larry Cetrulo '71, P'06 '09
Thomas O'Neill '73, P'00
Brian Hehir '75, P'08
David Wagener '76, P'15
William J. Cleary III ’85 P’17 '19
Jack Coan '88
Bob Glatz '88

Martina Albright '90 & Jon Bernstein '90
Andy Freed '90
Cindy &
Paul Webb P'16
The Allard Family
John Harvey
The Mollerus Family



-- Your Team for Life --