On This Date in DHA History - May

As the nation's oldest University and the inventor of collegiate athletics, Harvard's athletics tradition and history is unrivaled. Here we celebrate pieces of that history with a look back at what happened on this date in Harvard Athletics.

May 5, 2007 - A Championship No-Hitter

Softball wrapped up its fourth Ivy League title with a sweep of Penn in the inaugural Ivy League Championship Series at Soldiers Field behind a Shelly Madick ’08 no-hitter in the opener. The champs were rewarded with Madick being named Ivy League Pitcher of the Year after posting a 1.50 ERA and recording 16 wins, and slugger Lauren Murphy ’10 being named Rookie of the Year after bashing a league-record 18 home runs, a mark which stands today.

May 6, 1875 - Crimson Pride
Harvard students, alumni, and faculty held a vote to determine the school’s official color and nickname and overwhelmingly selected Crimson. The color first entered Harvard lore on June 18, 1858 when crew members Charles Eliot ’53, the future 21st President of Harvard University, and Benjamin Crowninshield ’58 bought six red handkerchiefs just before a regatta to distinguish their boat from its competitors. As team members wiped the sweat from their brows during the race, the handkerchiefs turned from red to a deep crimson. 

May 14, 1874 - First Football Game
Football made its Cambridge debut when Harvard accepted a proposal from McGill University for a two-game series at Jarvis Field, now the site of Harvard Law School. Harvard won the opener, 3 goals to 0, and the schools battle to a 0-0 draw the following afternoon.

May 15, 1988 - All-Around All-Star
Charlotte R. Joslin '90 became the first female athlete in Ivy League history to be named first team All-Ivy League in three unrelated sports -- field hockey, ice hockey, and lacrosse. Just a sophomore at the time, would finish her career as the most decorated female athlete in Harvard history. She earned Player of the Year honors in field hockey and ice hockey, was a three-time All-American in lacrosse, helped the lacrosse team to its first National Championship in 1990, and, of course, received the Radcliffe Prize at the 1990 Senior Letterwinners' Dinner as the most outstanding female athlete.

May 20, 1990 - National Champions
The women's lacrosse team capped a perfect 15-0 season with an 8-7 come-from-behind win over Maryland to win the program's first NCAA Championship. Charlotte R. Joslin '90, Anne M. Vaughan '90, and Julia W. French '90 were named first team All-Americans while Susan M. Carls '91 and Karen M. Everling '90 were named to the second team.

-- Your Team for Life --