2018 Senior Letterwinners' Dinner

It is the only time all student-athletes from the Class of 2018 will gather together under one roof.

Nearly 900 seniors, family members, friends, coaches, and administrators dine together on the evening before commencement, honoring the accomplishments of the senior class and announcing the recipients of 11 major prizes and awards.

Register to Attend the Event

WHEN: Wednesday, May 23, 2018

WHERE: Bright-Landry Hockey Center

TIME: 5PM Reception | 6PM Dinner and Awards
** Senior Letterwinners must RSVP below. Please ask your son/daughter if they have already done so.**
**Seating is open. Please arrive early to secure seats for large groups.**



Become an Endowment Contributor

Help ensure the continued success of the Senior Letterwinners' Dinner by becoming an endowment contributor. All gifts of $1,000 or more will be placed into an endowment account which will help ensure that the experiences and traditions of the Senior Letterwinners' Dinner live on in perpetuity. Endowment contributors will be acknowledged on the HVC website and in the Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner event program indefinitely.


All Senior Letterwinners' Dinner endowment contributors are eligible to receive Class Credit by calling the HVC at 617.495.3535 or by giving through the Harvard College Fund by;

  1. Selecting FAS Athletics under the School/Affiliate dropdown

  2. Selecting Harvard Varsity Club under the fund dropdown

  3. Selecting This is a Pledge Payment and specifying your gift is to the Senior Letterwinners' Dinner endowment (fund #340-487142RE) in the textbox

National Champion | $100,000 donation
All-American | $25,000 donation

All-Ivy | $10,000 donation

Captain | $5,000 donation

Major H | $1,000 donation

Naming Opportunity

A naming opportunity is also available for a gift of $1M+; please contact Bob Glatz ’88, The Broadbent Family Executive Director, (glatz@fas.harvard.edu or 617.495.3750) for more information.


About the Harvard Varsity Club

The Harvard Varsity Club is a registered 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which supports a vibrant community of over 30,000 current and alumni Harvard student-athletes, parents, and friends. Financial support from our membership program, including our Lifetime Membership Endowment, allows us to support the professional development of current and alumni student-athletes, and helps us bring our community together through events like the Senior Letterwinners' Dinner. Memberships are available to both alumni and friends of Harvard Athletics, including a special discounted rate of $18 for the Class of 2018. In addition to helping us fulfill our mission of preserving the traditions, fostering the ideals, and advancing the interests of Harvard Athletics, active members gain access to regional networking and social events, access to the HVC Member Database & Career Services program, discounts on HVC merchandise and events, and more. To activate your membership, or to purchase a membership for a loved one, click here.


The Francis H. Burr '09 Scholarship - First awarded in 1918, this award is a scholarship fund established in memory of Francis H. Burr by his friends. It is awarded to a senior “who combines as nearly as possible, Burr’s remarkable qualities of character, leadership, scholarship, and athletic ability.” 

The William J. Bingham Award - First awarded in 1954, this award is given annually to that male member of the graduating class of Harvard College who, through integrity, courage, leadership, and ability on the athletic fields, has best served the high purpose of Harvard as exemplified by the late William J. Bingham ’16, former Director of Athletics. 

The John P. Fadden Award - This award was established in 1966 in honor of the late John P. Fadden’s service as an athletic trainer and friend to Harvard athletes for many years. The award is given annually to a senior student (Varsity, JV or Intramural) who has overcome physical adversity to make a contribution to his/her team.

The list of awards has increased over the years to include the following eight:

The Radcliffe Prize - This award was first established in 1975. It is awarded annually to that senior woman letterwinner who, through outstanding ability on the playing field and dedication to her sport or sports and qualities of leadership, best reflects the purposeful achievement of Radcliffe Alumnae in every field around the world. 

The Harvard-Radcliffe Foundation for Women’s Athletics Prize - Established by the Harvard-Radcliffe Foundation for Women’s Athletics (HRFWA), this prize was first presented in 1986 and is awarded annually to the senior woman who best exemplifies the qualities of excellent scholarship, character, leadership, and athletic ability. 

The John P. Reardon '60 Men’s Award - Established in 1987, this award is named in honor of John P. Reardon, Jr., ’60, Director of Athletics from 1977 to 1990. This prize is presented annually to the senior varsity male athlete who exemplifies the qualities of excellent scholarship, character, leadership, and athletic ability. 

The Mary G. Paget Prize - The Mary G. Paget Prize is awarded annually by the presidents of Radcliffe and Harvard in honor of Mary Guest Paget’s many years of service as Director of Sports, Dance and Recreation at Radcliffe College. The prize was first established in 1975 and is awarded each year to the senior student who has contributed the most to women’s athletics. 

The Francis J. Toland Community Service Award - This award was created in honor of former Senior Associate Director of Athletics Fran Toland, who retired in 2000 after 41 years of service to Harvard athletics. The award is presented to the senior athlete who has made the most outstanding contribution to Harvard and its neighboring communities. 

The Carroll F. Getchell Manager of the Year Award - In 1981, the Committee on Athletics voted to name the Manager of the Year Award, established in 1972, for the late Carroll F. Getchell, long-time business manager in the Department of Athletics. Each year the Department recognizes that manager in the senior class “who has best displayed integrity, courage, leadership, and ability” during his/her years of participation. 

The Director’s Award - Established in 2007, the Director’s Award recognizes the person (or persons) who, through his/her pursuit of excellence and service to Harvard Athletics, has displayed exceptional leadership, personal character, integrity and commitment to education through athletics. 

The Arthur L. Boland Award - This award was established in 2010 by the Department of Athletics to honor Arthur Boland, MD in commemoration of his 40 years of dedicated service to Harvard Athletics. The award is presented each year to a senior varsity athlete who will be attending medical school and who best exemplifies those characteristics and qualities which have been the hallmark of Dr. Art Boland’s care for Harvard athletes.

Thank You to our
Endowment Contributors!

Call the HVC at 617.495.3535 to contribute to continued success of the SLD

National Champion | $100,000

Jacqueline & Jeffrey Tonkel '92


All-American | $25,000

John Simourian ’57, P'88
Jim Quagliaroli '97


All-Ivy | $10,000

Scott Collins '87, P'16
Mary & Richard Jacobson P'16

Captain | $5,000

Louis J. Appell, Jr. ’47 P’73

Kimberley & William Anderson P'17


Major H | $1,000

Walter Greeley '53, P'85
John Winthrop '58, P'86
Georges Peter '59, P'90
Bob Anderson '61
Robert Brooks '68
Larry Cetrulo '71, P'06 '09
Thomas O'Neill '73, P'00
Brian Hehir '75, P'08
David Wagener '76, P'15
William J. Cleary III ’85 P’17 '19
Jack Coan '88
Bob Glatz '88

Martina Albright '90 & Jon Bernstein '90
Andy Freed '90
Cindy &
Paul Webb P'16
The Allard Family
John Harvey
The Mollerus Family


Thank You to our 2018
Event Sponsors!